Remember remember the 5th of November…

Gun powder, treason and plot. I see no reason that gun powder treason, should ever be forgot… and I hope it never is!

dandelion

Damp, cold and the smell of smoke… I love bonfire night! It’s one of my favourite nights of the year rivaled only by Christmas eve. I love wrapping up warm and I love fireworks. I love hearing the bonfire crackle and watching the patterns that sparklers make and it has been something I have been very excited about sharing with Tommy and Charlotte. This isn’t there first bonfire night, but it might just be the first one they remember.

DSCN0137

I was well prepared with sparklers, although I got my maths wrong and forgot they came in packs of 5, so when offered 3 for 2, I bought 6 thinking 2 each, and we ended up with 30! I also bought some popping candy thinking it might be fun and suit the banging and fizzing fireworks, and I got hold of some coloured glow sticks. I had the snow suits and wellies ready to make sure that the children would be warm and dry.DSCN0170

What I wasn’t prepared for was the amount of rain, a bonfire that wouldn’t light at all, nearly being skewered by a rod from a firework and the kids refusal to eat the hot dogs or burgers *sigh*.

However, none of that ruined bonfire night, it didn’t even dent it for me.

The DSCN0196display was amazing and the kids were thrilled. I’m already counting down till next year… (it’s 357 days in case you were wondering).

Monkey and Mouse

7 Comments Add yours

  1. These firewarks photos look really good!! We also had a display nearby home and it was a nice bonfire night!! oh no how annoying about the rain. Thanks God you still enjoyed it and had a great time. 🙂 xx
    #whatevertheweather

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Catavich says:

      It was a fantastic display, it ran for over half an hour so we were really pleased ^_^ Thanks for your kind comment

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Chloe says:

    I’d love your tips on how to capture beautiful pictures like this. I love your sparklers pictures and those fireworks look so, so beautiful!!!! I really love firework night, it’s so lovely to wrap up warm and head out altogether isn’t it. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Catavich says:

      Thank you! I wish I could sound really knowledgeable here and give lots of technical advice but unfortunately I just use the various settings on my digital camera/phone. I do know that it requires a long exposure and a fairly steady hand, but as for capturing them at night, I’m not sure. I do plan on looking all these thing sup though so when I do I will let you know ^_^. I love how som of the fireworks look like natural things like plants, especially one which looks just like a dandelion. Thanks for the kind comments

      Like

  3. Jenny says:

    It looks a fantastic night out! I love bonfire night too, our display was fantastic. Loving your photos, great sparkler action shots. Hope you’re ok after being nearly skewered by a firework stick?! Typical kids not wanting to eat the food, I ended out being fresh doughnuts for us instead of burgers!
    Thanks so much for linking up to #Whatevertheweather 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Catavich says:

    The firework stick was a bit unnerving as it only landed about 2m from us after going over our heads, and stood up like a javelin in the ground, but everyone was fin and that’s all that really matters ^_^. I could live off fresh doughnuts, they’re delicious haha. Thanks for the kind comments

    Like

  5. Coombe Mill says:

    What lovely photos, fireworks are so hard to capture well, you’ve done a great job despite the rain. Outdoor fun can’t stop for rain in this country! Love the popping candy idea, although the firework stick sounds a lucky miss for everyone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

