A quick trip to Grizedale…

I was given my Christmas present off Bob early, a new camera! So, naturally I was kids2desperate to try it out. At this time of year, where better to try it out than a forest or woods, all of those lovely Autumnal colours. Our local forest is Grizedale, a gorgeous place right in the Lake District, managed by the Forestry Commission. Unfortunately, I can’t walk too far at the minute, but I wanted to walk a little and thought the kids would enjoy the fantastic play area there.

We packed a picnic and set off. After taking a longer route, we eventually arrived and I got my camera straight out. We decided to follow the yellow path which is about .75miles, and follows the river through theΒ  woods. The kids enjoyed all the fallen DSCN0053leaves and watching everybody at the Go Ape tree top adventure, and I got to play with my new toy. Bliss! Or at least it sould have been. Unfortunately this being the last day of the half term, Tom was being hyperactive, which means he was ignoring what we were saying and answering back. It’s frustrating but also to be expected (not an excuse). Anyway we wandered along (sort of) happily stopping to watch people on the zip wires and look at the sculptures. Grizedale is a bit like a natural art gallery. The collection of sculptures is varied and beautiful and always at home in the forest. There is even a DSCN0099sculpture trail that you can follow. We even found a very established den, but the smell of slightly rotting, damp leaves was too much for their little noses!

We headed down to the play area where we ate lunch, before the kids ran off to play.

Now is the time to get out and do a bit of forest bathing and exploring while all the leaves off their finest colours, before they all fall off and Winter sets in. If you aren’t sure where you nearest woods or forests are you can use the Woodland Trusts find a wood search, or the Forestry Commissions find a forest search.

Life Unexpected
10 Comments Add yours

  1. You all seemed to have a lovely day out, nice walks in the forest before winter comes when it gets really cold. I just find hiking in woods so refreshing and relaxing, isn’t it? Lovely photos too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Catavich says:

      It’s great isn’t it? I love it when there’s that slight nip in the air

      Like

  2. Wow! You are so lucky to live nearby such a lovely place. I love that water falls. I think my little Ethan would attempt to go across it. Haha I think both of my E&E would also love to explore the woods and the teepee too. I would also love to have a go at Go Ape. Sounds like fun! πŸ™‚
    #Whatevertheweather

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Catavich says:

      Thanks for your comment ^_^. We only recently moved here but definitely feel lucky to do so!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jenny Eaves says:

    Grizedale is gorgeous, we’ve been for walks there when I was a child and loved it. I definitely want to take my boys to the Lake District as I have so many happy memories of holidays there. Excellent photos with your new camera, hope you can walk a bit more soon and can get lots more lovely photos of your family.
    Thanks so much to linking up to #Whatevertheweather πŸ™‚ x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Catavich says:

      We were very lucky to move here and I am trying to make sure that we don’t waste a single minute of it! Glad you likethe photos, thanks so much for the kind comments ^_^

      Like

  4. Beautiful shots and what a lovely autumn walk perfect X #whatevertheweather

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Catavich says:

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. I love forest bathing. They’re so beautiful to explore in Autumn aren’t they and hooray to your early Christmas present. Your pictures are simply stunning so definitely a worthy investment. I adore the colours in the top photos. I really want to try Go Ape one day, our closest is Exeter, but it does sound like a lot of fun. I love the little abandoned den too, a shame it was so smelly. Thanks so much for linking up to #Whatevertheweather πŸ™‚ x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Catavich says:

      I am really happy with my new camera (who wouldn’t be? πŸ™‚ ) and can’t wait to take more photo’s with it. GoApe looks like great fun, I want to have a go with the kids, just waiting for my daughter to get a little bit older before hand though so I know she will enjoy it, rather than worrying about her being scared. Thanks for the kind comments x

      Like

Leave a Reply

